10 Tourist Mistakes Europeans Need to Avoid In America

Don’t go without reading this first.

Anthony J. Yeung
9 min readMay 29, 2024

I recently wrote an article for Americans on the mistakes to avoid when visiting Continental Europe.

A reader suggested that I make one in the opposite direction and it sparked a lot of great ideas. (Thanks, Judith.)

So in this article, I'll share key tips to help you have a great time in the USA and come back with some great memories and eye-opening experiences.

It doesn’t matter if you’re Scandinavian, Mediterranean, or Balkan, this will help a lot.

Before we begin, I have a few quick points:

  1. I’m from LA so keep in mind that my perspective might be different than other Americans.
  2. For all the Latin Americans out there, don’t get mad that I’m referring to the United States as “America.” This is just semantics so tranquilo. 😂
  3. Don’t judge America based on our Border Control officers. (They’re mean to us too.)
  4. I understand, for many Europeans, the US has extremely harsh tourist visa rules against you. It’s very unfortunate and I want to apologize for my country—I hope you get to come one day.
  5. I’ve saved the best for last. 😉

--

--

Anthony J. Yeung

Seen in Esquire, GQ, & Men's Health. Founder. Full-time traveler (4.5 years & counting). Upgrade your life w/ my 5 life hacks→ https://bit.ly/2IDx15y